Personnel

Director | Faculty | Postdoctoral Researchers | Students | Emeritus Members

Director

Chih-Jen Sung_2016 Dr. Chih-Jen (Jackie) Sung
Position: Connecticut Clean Energy Fund Professor in Sustainable Energy
Contact: University of Connecticut, Department of Mechanical Engineering,United Technologies Engineering Building Rm. 484
Phone: (860) 486-3679
Fax: (860) 486-5088
E-mail: cjsung@engr.uconn.edu
Research Areas: Combustion, Propulsion, Laser Diagnostics, Fuel Chemistry

Return to top

Faculty

bryan  Dr. Bryan W. Weber
Position: Assistant Professor-in-residence
Contact: weber@engr.uconn.edu; http://www.bryanwweber.com
Research Areas: Biofuels, Low temperature ignition, High pressure ignition, Combustion kinetics
xin Dr. Xin Xue
Position: Assistant Research Professor
Contact: xuexinbj@gmail.com
Research Areas: Laser diagnostic, conventional and alternative fuels, combustion emissions

Return to top

Students

nick-curtis Nick Curtis
Position: Ph.D. Candidate
Contact: nicholas.curtis@uconn.edu
Research Areas: Dynamic Adaptive Chemistry, Mechanism Reduction, GPU-based Chemistry Integration
Ruozhou-Fang Ruozhou Fang
Position: Ph.D. Candidate
Contact: ruozhou.fang@uconn.edu
Research Areas: Autoignition of alternative fuel in Rapid Compression Machine, Gas sampling system
Xiao-Ren Xiao Ren
Position: Ph.D. Candidate
Contact: xiao.ren@uconn.edu
Research Areas: Lean Direct Injection Combustion
Mengyuan-Wang Mengyuan Wang
Position: Ph.D. Candidate
Contact: mengyuan.wang@uconn.edu
Research Areas: Autoignition of gaseous fuel (current research) and autoignition of diesel (future research) in Rapid Compression Machine

Return to top

Emeritus Members 

kyle Dr. Kyle Brady
Current Position: Postdoctoral Researcher
Contact: kyle.b.brady@gmail.com
Research Areas: Hydrogen fire safety, catalytic combustion; High-pressure forced ignition of transportation fuels.
justin-bunnell Justin Bunnell
Current Position: General Motors
Contact: justin.bunnell@uconn.edu
Research Areas: Crevice containment in rapid compression machines
xin Dr. Xin Hui
Current Position: Associate Professor, School of Energy and Power Engineering, Beihang University
Contact: huixin@buaa.edu.cn
Research Areas: High pressure flames, Conventional as well as surrogate fuels
goutham Goutham Kukkadapu
Current Position: Ph.D. Candidate
Contact: kukkadapu1@llnl.gov
Research Areas: Autoignition of Gasoline, Gasoline Surrogates and Bio-fuels; Mid IR spectroscopy
picture Dr. Kamal Kumar
Current Position: Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Idaho
Contact: kkumar@uidaho.edu
Research Areas: Alternative fuels, Jet fuels, Neat fuel components, Surrogate fuel blends, Higher hydrocarbon fuels, Bio-fuels, Catalytic combustion, Flame studies, Autoignition
aburba2 Dr. Apurba K. Das
Current Position: Lead Engineer, Thermal, GE Renewable Energy, Renewable Steam Plants
Contact: apurba.das@ge.com
Research Areas: Flame speed and autoignition of alternative fuels, Hydrocarbons; Species evolution in Rapid Compression Machine and IR spectroscopy
pradeep Pradeep K. Singh
Current Position: Ph.D. Candidate
Contact: pradeep.singh@huskymail.uconn.edu
Research Areas: Laser diagnostic techniques for soot and PAH formation in combustion
quanhong Quanhong Xu
Current Position: Associate Professor, Beihang University
Contact: quanhong.xu@engr.uconn.edu
Research Areas: Combustion, Heat transfer

Return to top